Mortifying

We had beautiful weather on Sunday, so I decided to take my bike out on the bike trail and see how far my out-of-shape legs could carry me. I noticed as I started away from the house that one of the caps was missing from my handlebar grips.

I was about 2 miles away from home (and feeling great) when my left pedal just fell off. Lovely. I had checked everything else on the bike – replaced the seat, the grips, adjusted the brakes and the handlebars, but failed to ever really look closely at the pedals. I assume that it wasn’t screwed in all the way, because the threads at the far end of the bolt were stripped—making it impossible for the pedal to be put back on the bike.

Thus my Sunday afternoon bike ride ended…with me half-walking, half-coasting my way all the way back to my house.

The good news: as I walked back, I found the cap to my grip lying on the ground not far from the house! Oh…yeah…and I still got plenty of exercise for the day.

0 Responses to “Mortifying”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

