All Growed Up

One of the best things about changing jobs and moving away has been the incredible people that we are meeting, being so warmly welcomed into their lives, and feeling like an adult.

This evening we attended a party at the home of one of our board members, who is an amazing hostess. Cater waiters served hors d’œuvres and poured drinks. We mingled and chatted with couples from all walks of life – a former theatre critic, a screenwriter, artists, doctors, businesspeople. We ate sushi and drank wine, and enjoyed the incredible view of the mountains. We read poetry that each of us brought to share (the theme of the party was love – based on the title of our summer musical). My boss brought his guitar and shared some of his songs, which was great because most of the guests apparently didn’t know that he is a wonderful singer/songwriter.

One of the things that was bringing me down at my old job was that I didn’t have much of a social life. When we did go out, the major activity seemed to be “let’s drink until we can’t see straight and then talk about work”. After a while, it was just depressing to me. As I listened to the poetry being read this evening, it occurred to me that I was engaging in a social activity where I was a) the youngest person in the room, and b) actually able to relate to people on a intellectual level that I haven’t experienced in a long, long time.

I felt very grown-up, and very, very happy to be here.

1 Response to “All Growed Up”



Leave a Reply

Pooplets of Wisdom

Check My Pix

Add to Technorati Favorites

