Spring Break

I haven’t been posting much lately; the new play I’m working on is kicking my butt, and by the time I get home, I’m too brain-dead to write anything. It’ll only be getting worse in the next 10 days, so I thought I’d take a moment and check in.

The ski season is officially over, and the town has shut down for Spring Break. For two weeks, it will be like a ghost town here—most of the local businesses take off while they can, shutting their doors and getting the hell out of Dodge before the summer tourist season kicks in. It hasn’t been too bad this week, but my guess is that next week the tumbleweeds will start rolling through the streets, and finding a cup of coffee downtown will become a challenge.

It’s still ridiculously cold here, but it’s warming up enough that the snow is melting and the promise of summer is in the air. (It seems that we’ll be skipping Spring altogether this year.) I’m looking forward to seeing my yard again, and as soon as I can get all of the ice & snowpack off of my deck, I’m firing up the grill. I’ve been refusing to wear my jacket in hopes that my small act of defiance will chase off the cold. Yesterday I noticed that town workers are sweeping the gravel & sand off of the sidewalks, and people are out riding their bikes again. I’m sure I’ll be out on mine again soon.

0 Responses to “Spring Break”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Pooplets of Wisdom

Check My Pix

Add to Technorati Favorites

