Turkey Day Post-Mortem

Overall, Thanksgiving dinner was a great success!  We ate, we drank, we made merry; by 8p the guests were on their way home.  Truly, the only disappointment of the day was that SURVIVOR was a recap episode.  Recaps just piss me off.  I even fast-forward through the “previously on” portions of regular episodes.

Tonight I am in full Suzy Homemaker mode, and making stock from the turkey carcass.  We were released from rehearsals early, and I needed to go by the grocery store for a couple of items for tomorrow’s soup, and therefore asked my sweet hubby to finish picking the meat off of the turkey so I could save a little time when I got home.  When I got home, Terry announced that he had finished his chore…so I announced that I was ready to boil some bones.

“The…bones?”

“Yes, honey, the BONES.  Please tell me that you didn’t throw them away.  That was the whole point.”

“Well, they’re all in a clean garbage bag…”

So I’m making trashcan soup tonight.  But isn’t it lovely?

Yes, the turkey bones spent a few minutes in the trash

Tonight we’re having the last of our leftovers for dinner, then we HAVE to get back on the South Beach wagon.  I’d be lying if I said that I wasn’t looking forward to one more night of yummy carbs, but I’m also looking forward to losing a few more pounds before the Christmas eating season begins.

5 Responses to “Turkey Day Post-Mortem”


  1. 1 Sarah November 30, 2008 at 12:29 pm

    Oh boy – bones were such a pain here. Dave’s mother was cleaning the carcass and seemed to think that I wanted to make soup right that minute (Thanksgiving night). Even if I did, I wouldn’t have anywhere to put it! I had the worst time convincing her that what I really wanted was to break down the carcass and FREEZE the bones for later stock construction. Sheesh. Your trashcan soup looks beautiful!

  2. 2 Amy November 30, 2008 at 2:30 pm

    Tracy…..
    Thanks for the sweet comment on my blog about Cose….oh, I am sooooo missing her! I really think it was just “old age” that got her, but she might have had cancer or something, she didn’t show signs of pain or suffering, just the slowing down, getting bony, etc. The day before she died I noticed that she would stand in the litter box a long time….I think her kidneys were shutting down. She had a good long life and I would like to think that she was happy in my lap as she passed away. I really think mentally preparing myself for the past 6 mos helped 🙂 I am sorry your kitty is getting old too…..it sucks.
    I gotta run….Gigi has play practice at church (you would get a kick out of her, you fellow thespian! She is quite the actress and does a mean british accent! har! So funny coming out of that little chinese face! 🙂
    Take care!
    amy

    • 3 trackellalouise December 6, 2008 at 11:12 am

      Amy – I’ve been lurking on your blog and I love it! You and your family are adorable. Gigi is a doll. I hope that someday I’ll get back to NashVegas long enough that I can make a reunion!

  3. 4 Princess of the Universe December 1, 2008 at 11:50 am

    I’m totally inventing me some trashcan soup and emailing the recipe to everyone! 🙂
    xo

    • 5 trackellalouise December 6, 2008 at 11:11 am

      No need to invent, it’s really easy!

      Step 1: Take the turkey bones out of the trash.
      Step 2: Cover with cold water & bring to a boil.
      Step 3: Add carrots, onions, celery, parsley & thyme. Simmer for a gazillion hours.
      Step 4: Strain out all of the “trash” and you have a lovely broth with which to make real soup!
      Step 5: Make sure the whole world knows that your husband (or significant other) threw away your turkey carcass, yet you were still able to save the day! 🙂


Leave a Reply

